NOTEBOOK 01-3 (the last)

2001 was a fateful year for many, and in different ways. Stanley Kubrick had chosen it as the year of rebirth and regeneration in his 1968 film “A Space Odyssey,” because it was the first year of the ‘new millennium,’ according to those who consider Jesus to have been born in the Year One. In May of ’01 I had a cardiac arrest, quadruple bypass heart surgery, and not only survived, but began a new phase of my life. On September 11 came the attack on the Pentagon and the World Trade Center, the destruction of its blandly mighty towers and the beginning of a new era in American life and world affairs—the beginning, I suppose, of  a slower-motion world war, number III. I traveled later that month to the fairy-tale mountain town of Taormina, Sicily, to lead a RIEA workshop on urbanism. When I returned to New York, I was teaching at The Cooper Union and made an installation “The Storm.” A notebook went with me and I recorded ideas and events, but the world had changed, as had I, and this notebook was to be the last.

LWblog-NB01-3-1

LWblog-NB01-3-2

LWblog-NB01-3-9

LWblog-NB01-3-9a

LWblog-NB01-3-10

LWblog-NB01-3-3

The Storm installation, New York (2001):

LWblog-NB01-3-Storm

LWblog-NB01-3-4

LWblog-NB01-3-8

LWblog-NB01-3-5

LWblog-NB01-3-7

LWblog-NB01-3-7a

LWblog-NB01-3-6

The Fall installation, Paris (2002):

LWblog-NB01-3-Fall

LW


About this entry